Day Trip to Charleston

The other day my family and I spent the day in Charleston, SC. The drive is about an hour and fifteen minutes from my house, and you better believe I Instagram-ed my view from the car window. Although, you can kind of see the reflection of my knee in the picture, which just makes things a bit, um, awkward.

Our day trip came about because my grandma is in town visiting, and we thought it’d be nice to do a little sight seeing (and shopping) in one of my favorite cities.

First thing’s first, we had to grab something to eat before roaming around because walking is hard. We ended up going to one of my favorite restaurants called Fleet Landing. Here is a picture of our view from the deck, which is where we ate lunch.

DSC_0455

It’s seriously right out on the water, which was so relaxing. You could actually smell the salt from the water, and the breeze that day was a beautiful one. The food was delicious; I played it safe with fish and chips and my mom ordered an old favorite of ours: a fried green tomato BLT. So good.

DSC_0462 DSC_0461

Please excuse the small bite missing from my flounder. It looked so appetizing I almost forgot to take a picture.

After we ate, we walked around Charleston and had a look at the historic bits. We also meandered down Market Street, peering in at what all the vendors were selling. I’ve picked up some of my favorite rings from there before, and this time I bought a small toe ring with a bone fish etched in. So cute and weird at the same time. I also did some shopping on King Street. Some of the items I bought should be featured in a haul I’ll be posting soon!

Here are some of the sights we saw during the day:

DSC_0471 DSC_0473 DSC_0474 DSC_0476 DSC_0484 DSC_0486

I find that going to old places with new companions can often be like experiencing a city you love for the first time. All in all, it was a beautiful day. The sun shone brightly, the city was abuzz with tourists and locals alike, and the water was exceptionally gorgeous! I can’t wait until I visit again.

DSC_0487

Until next time,

Sarah E.

2 comments

  1. Charleston really is an incredible city. My husband and I spent the day there on a trip a year or so back and we’ve been dreamily planning a longer getaway there for quite some time now. Thanks for sharing some new eats we’ll need to try!

    1. Sure thing! Fleet Landing used to be a naval base until it was converted into a restaurant. It makes for a great atmosphere, which is the cherry on top to a delicious meal! If you go, let me know how you like it!

Leave a Reply

